The first WOMADelaide Forest was planted in 2009. In partnership with Australia's largest environmental organisation, Greening Australia, the festival began offsetting its ecological footprint with the purchase of, and investment in, native biodiverse tree plantings in the state's South-East. More than 70,000 native trees have been planted across 65 hectares in the first forest. A second forest was established in 2018 and it's estimated that combined, the two forests will contribute to removing more than 21,650 tonnes of carbon dioxide from the atmosphere over the next hundred years.

A KidZone stage and a new bar were added. Also, to combat the dry conditions, track matting pathways were created and more water stations added.

Highlights: Omar Souleyman! Justin Adams was the All-Star Jam Director and covered Don’t Dream It’s Over, with Neil Finn on stage (to Neil’s delight). Rokia Traore, Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu, Osadia, and Strange Fruit.

"Unmissable" - Peter Burdon, Blaze 

"The sense of shared hope, peace and pride was magical" - Paul Nassari, Sunday Mail

view archived website

2009 Poster

WOMADelaide 2009 Lineup

  • Aaron Choulai, VADA & the Tatana Village Choir (PNG / Australia)
  • Akoustic Odyssey (Australia)
  • The Andi & George Band (Australia)
  • Arte Kanela (Australia / Spain)
  • The Audreys (Australia)
  • Australian Dance Theatre “Zero-Sum” (Australia)
  • Bedouin Jerry Can Band (Egypt)
  • The Black Jesus Experience (Africa / NZ / Australia)
  • The Cat Empire (Australia)
  • Dan Sultan (Australia)
  • Dengue Fever (USA / Cambodia)
  • Dimi Mint Abba (Mauritanian)
  • Dino Moran (South Africa)
  • Dona Rosa & Ensemble (Portugal)
  • Ego Lemnos (East Timor)
  • Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu (Australia)
  • Justin Adams & Juldeh Camara Trio (UK / Gambia)
  • Kaki King (USA)
  • King Tide (Australia)
  • Lo Cor de la Plana (France)
  • Mark Atkins (Australia)
  • Mihirangi (NZ)
  • Mikidache (Mayotte)
  • Natacha Atlas (Egypt / UK)
  • Neil Finn (NZ)
  • Paprika Balkanicus (Romania / Slovenia / Serbia)
  • Rachel Unthank & the Winterset (UK)
  • Redhead (Australia)
  • Rokia Traore (Mali)
  • Russ Jones, the Hackney Globetrotter (UK)
  • Sa Dingding (China)
  • Seckou Keita SKQ (Senegal / UK)
  • Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 (Nigeria)
  • Ska Cubano (Cuba / UK)
  • Speed Caravan (Algeria / Paris)
  • Tony Allen (Nigeria)
  • U Shrinivas & U Rajesh (India)