The first full festival in an even-numbered year since 1992, and officially became part of the Adelaide Festival of Arts program again.

The WOMADelaide Foundation was created - the non-profit body that presents the festival. The Foundation went on to invest in many amazing projects; the first in 2007 were Nganampa Music and the Tjanpi Desert Weavers, with the support of a private donor, Maureen Ritchie.

Artists' set lengths were extended in 2004 and the Taste the World artist cooking demonstrations began. Taste the World programming was subsequently introduced to other WOMAD festivals in the UK and NZ. This year also saw the very first WOMADelaide Parade, which became a feature for many years following. French artists Cie Carabosse presented a stunning fire installation. Other highlights were Gilberto Gil (Minister for Culture at the time), Abdulla Ibrahim Trio, Oumou Sangare, Kila and Inti Illimani.

"It's an intoixcating brew that is a true gem in our cultural life" - Stephen Whittington, The Advertiser

"Possibly one of the best to date" - Michael Hunter, dB Magazine

view archived website

2004 Poster

WOMADelaide 2004 Lineup

Music & Dance
  • Abbie Cardwell (Australia)
  • Abdullah Ibrahim Trio (South Africa)
  • The Cat Empire (Australia)
  • Cie Carabosse (France)
  • Dirty Lucy (Australia)
  • Eliza Carthy (United Kingdom)
  • Gilberto Gil (Brazil)
  • Howie Summer (Australia)
  • Inti-Illimani (Chile)
  • Joseph Tawadros (Egypt / Australia)
  • Kila (Ireland)
  • Les Hurelements d'Leo (France) 
  • Los Cabrones (Australia)
  • Mark Atkins (ATSI, Australia)
  • Mary Coughlan (Ireland)
  • Monsieur Camembert (Australia)
  • Oki Kano & the Far East Band (Japan)
  • Oumou Sangare (Mali)
  • R Carlos Nakai (USA)
  • Savina Yannatou (Greece)
  • Slava & Leonard Grigoryan (Australia)
  • Sotho Sounds (Lesotho)
  • Souad Massi (Algeria / France)
  • Sultan Khan (India)
  • Tinariwen (Mali)
  • Waak Waak Jungi (Australia)
  • Xavier Rudd (Australia)
  • Yilila (Australia)
  • Youssou N’Dour & the Super Etoile de Dakar (Senegal)
  • Zakir Hussein (India)
  • Bill Fragos (Australia)
  • Dhol Intentions Crew (India / Australia)
  • DJ Desperado (Australia)
  • DJ Dunks & Muskrat (Australia) 
  • DJ Russ Jones (United Kingdom)
  • Hamid Baroudi (Algeria)
  • Henri (Australia)
  • Russ Jones (United Kingdom)
  • Salmonella Dub (New Zealand)